I’ve been absent for some time as I’ve recently undergone 30 radiotherapy sessions for a recurrence of my thyroid cancer.  There was a small nodule found in my neck after a scan in January, and instead of surgery this time, it was suggested that the radiotherapy treatments could be most beneficial for a local recurrence.

Every weekday for 6 weeks I attended the Oncology Department at Addenbrooke’s Hospital in order to be blasted by the tomography machine.  The worst part was having to be immobilised by wearing a ‘shell’ over my face inside the tomography machine  for at least 15 – 20 minutes each day, which was very claustrophobic.   The radiation made me very fatigued and nauseated, and I haven’t felt like doing much.

Four weeks on and I’m slowly recovering.  My taste buds have been massacred, and the only foods that taste like they should are salty foods, which I don’t usually eat.  I’ve lost 10 pounds in weight, and am having much difficulty putting it back on.  However, the pain I was starting to get in my left knee has gone with the weight loss, so it wasn’t altogether a bad experience!

I’ve been writing about the whole event in my new book ‘Relapse!’, which I’ll publish later in the year once I have the results from this treatment.  I have to wait until my throat has healed inside and everything has settled down before I can have another scan to see if the radiotherapy has worked.  My throat is still a bit sore, but the red inflamed skin on the outside has healed very well.

I’m still surviving!  One good thing to aid my healing and recovery was being able to buy a holiday home on the Isle of Wight after receiving an inheritance.  I look forward to many short breaks and holidays with my husband on the Island I love.

 

Leave a Reply

