Yesterday I published the third book in my series of thyroid cancer books.  ‘Relapse’ tells of two recurrences of papillary thyroid cancer I suffered in November 2014 and January 2017, and of the treatments I had to undergo.   You can find more details on my Amazon author page, the link is given below.

Relapse cover

https://www.amazon.com/Glenda-Shepherd/e/B00491GHRG/

Am I now in remission?  You’ll have to read the book to find out!  Here’s a little snippet from Chapter 1:

‘Relapse!’ by Glenda Shepherd, copyright 2017.  All rights reserved.

I suppose I had become rather blasé about the whole thyroid cancer thing.  Whilst waiting to see the oncologist in her NHS clinic in early October 2014, I sat patiently reading my Kindle and waiting for my name to be called.  All my previous check-up appointments since December 2007 had been fine, and almost seven years down the line I had no doubts at all that this latest follow up would be exactly the same.

The clinic was running over an hour late.  There were 70 patients on the list to be seen, and I was one of them.  After five years of follow ups, my insurance company had informed me that they would not be paying for any more check-ups, and so it was to the large NHS thyroid clinic at Addenbrooke’s Hospital that I had driven that morning, which was about 50 miles from my home in Suffolk.

As I sat there wondering when it would be my turn, I looked around at some of the other patients and felt relief that I had finally shaken the disease free some time ago.  I saw the lines of worry on the faces, and did not envy them the surgery, radiation, and possibly more surgery that they would have to endure to get to the stage where I was now at.

At last the nurse called my name and ushered me to another waiting area just outside the consultant’s office.  I smiled at her as I sat down and picked up my Kindle again.  However, the wait was brief this time, and about an hour and a half after my appointment time I was finally called in.

Usually the oncologist would inform me that my latest MRI was fine almost before I had sat down. This time I noticed a nurse was present.  The oncologist did not mention the results of the MRI at all, and instead asked me about how much thyroxine I was taking, and whether I had good energy levels.  A little warning bell started up in my brain, and I asked her for the results of the MRI scan.  She replied that she would ‘get to that in a minute’.

As soon as I heard those words I knew something was wrong.  My heart sank and I quickly looked over at the thyroid cancer nurse, whose expression was inscrutable.  I sighed, put on a brave face, and waited impatiently to hear my fate.

Leave a Reply

